Lead in Baby Food

baby-cereal-today-tease-160402_6154cabcc0b96ceff82d4a6f5bf33c9b.today-inline-large

Years ago, when I had babies, I read an article saying that lead was found in baby food.  At the time, I was a stay-at-home mother, and decided that I wouldn’t buy any baby food, instead, I would make it.  The way that I accomplished this was to simply put some of the food that I’d made into a food processor and then fed it to my babies.  I was already making my own applesauce, etc. before learning about the lead issue, since I didn’t want to feed my babies refined sugar.  I still make my own applesauce and have only ever added some cinnamon to the finished product.

Baby puree with bananas isolated on white

The reason I’m sharing all this with you is that once again, scientists have discovered that there is lead in baby food.  The amount is around 20%, with baby juice and root vegetables being the main culprit.  Researchers say that although there is some lead found in the soil where the vegetables may be grown, they feel that it is the high level of processing that is causing the problem.  However, since there is no acceptable level of lead intake, this is cause for concern.  I know that the time constraints on a family with a new baby are excessive, but I do encourage you to make your own baby food.   I know that most people are aware of the effects that environment has on the growth of a child, so if you can, perhaps you should consider making baby food yourself. It really doesn’t take that much time, and the result is that you would have one less thing to worry about. When it comes to raising children, one less thing to worry about is always welcome.

graph-EDF-lead-in-baby-food

 

http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2017/06/15/533103892/lead-detected-in-baby-food-samples-pediatricians-say-theres-no-safe-level

 

Leave a comment