Rebooting my Diet

51gql28ybrl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I’ve been Vegan for a few years now, and while I feel really good on this lifestyle, as a fifty-something woman dealing with chronic pain from Fibromyalgia and the other aches and pains that come from (those dreaded words) growing older, I felt that I really needed to make a change with my diet.  No, I’m not talking about beginning to eat meat and dairy again.  Instead I mean that I want to start eating the way Dr. Michael Greger promotes in his book How not to Die.  So, luckily, I was able to go and see Rip Esselstyn on his book tour promoting his new book, The Engine 2 Seven Day Rescue Diet: Eat Plants, Lose Weight, Save Your Health.

screen-shot-2016-04-18-at-8-53-14-am-597x450

While my diet is mostly healthy, I haven’t been eating the way that I should.  As you probably know, there are a lot of prepared food products out there for Vegans.  While these foods make life easy, they’re not exactly healthy.  I’ve been eating half-a-bagel at breakfast with vegan butter, and then there is the wonderfully delicious mandarin orange chicken (I prefer the Gardein brand).  However, since these are prepared foods, they of course, are not really good for you.

20170221_191108

Due to the increase of pain related to my Fibromyalgia, I decided that I really had to change my food consumption to only whole plant-based foods.  Lucky for me, along came the Rip Esselstyn book tour.  I’m so glad that I went to see him.  A lot of the recipes for vegans require that you are able to both afford and go to a store such as Whole Foods.  While Whole Foods is a wonderful experience, I absolutely cannot afford to buy much there.  That’s what’s so good about the recipes in the Engine 2 book.  I will be able to buy everything I need at my local grocery store.  So, I originally thought that I would start this on Tuesday, however, I just realized that I should probably read the book and then start – know, what a novel idea!  I’ll let you know when I start, and how it goes.  Wish me luck!

 

2 thoughts on “Rebooting my Diet

  1. Good luck! I’ve been doing a reset as well. I went off a vegan diet last summer vacation and didn’t get back on through the holidays. I felt so much better before, so I’m back to it – with the focus being more plant-based and less processed. I’m dragging the rest of the family with me in focusing on getting enough fruits and veggies (one’s still an omnivore and the other a vegetarian who loves processed food). Big sign on fridge with serving sizes and requirements. I think it’s working!

    • My daughter and I are vegan, and my husband is an omnivore. I hate cooking for me, it makes me sick. He’ll never change, and that’s becoming more of an issue. However, he will eat vegan about twice a week. Also, I can sneak some in about one other time per week. Plant-based is best, but processed is way too easy. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

