What the Heck is Mindfulness?

images

I keep hearing about mindfulness.  It seems to be all over the place, most especially in regard to the workplace.  According to the definitions I’ve found, mindfulness is being aware of your thoughts, emotions or experiences on a moment by moment basis.  As far as employers are concerned, mindfulness is focusing all your thoughts on the task at hand.  Sounds good, but how easy is it to simply focus on what’s in front of you?  My mind jumps around flitting from one thing to the next like a jackrabbit.

0ec3e55e8bef8d6bfe45b8dcc7a6038f

The reason I practice Yoga is that for that half-hour to an hour during my day, I turn my focus to my breath.  If I force myself to think only “breathe in breathe out”, I can empty my mind of all other thoughts and relax my body.   The only other time I can do that is when I say my affirmations to myself while lying in bed waiting for the sleep fairy to knock me out.

I understand the concept of mindfulness, and when I try it while working, the longest I can manage it is in half-hour increments.  Although, I must admit, those are the most productive half-hours I have during the day.  But the effort to reel in my busy little mind that is usually running off in a hundred different directions can be exhausting.

meditation-quotes-mindfulness

Does anyone else try this?  And, if you do, how is it going?  Please let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “What the Heck is Mindfulness?

  1. It’s another one of the words that is taking on more meaning (and consumerism) than it really intends. For me, it’s forcing myself to do one task at a time and sticking with it until completion, so in that sense, it’s retaining focus.
    Another big piece of my practice is to really listen when someone is talking to me and not start writing my own script in my head of what I’ll say next. Looking at someone, listening to them and not trying to fit what they’re saying into my expectations. It’s really hard to do, but worthwhile.
    Basically anything you do, you can bring mindfulness to it – noticing details, paying attention to your own reactions, pushing aside preconceptions. To me, it feels like slowing down time. In a world that’s always in a hurry, it feels like a gift.

Leave a Reply

