Tears and Yoga

quote-crying-is-one-of-the-highest-devotional-songs-one-who-knows-crying-knows-spiritual-practice-kripalvananda-54-18-87

Okay, I can be funny here and say that Yoga does indeed make me cry.  When I realize that my lack of flexibility has gotten worse, since I stopped doing Yoga, I can cry with anger.  However, I’m talking about that crying that you do when you do a pose.  Something that opens up your flexibility and just suddenly you find yourself with tears running down your face.  That kind of crying.  I was wondering if that was a thing, since it’s happened to me twice this week, so I looked it up and discovered that I really am not insane.  It happens to other people too.  For some reason the hip-opening positions seem to start the tears for some people.

From what I’ve discovered, people tend to store emotions that they haven’t dealt with in their bodies.  Just think of how tense we become in stressful situations, and then we don’t totally relax after the situation has ended.  Later, when we stretch, those muscles relax and the tension is released, sometimes in the form of tears.  Hip openers seem to hit the tear trigger for me.  This is the area of my body where I’m the least flexible, so I assume that my tension resides here as well as my neck and shoulders.  However, it’s really easy to relax your neck and shoulders, since all you need to do is flex them, but the hips are more difficult.

quote-mariel-hemingway-yoga-teaches-you-how-to-listen-to-221156

While I’ve been doing the Sun Salutation for a while now, I realized that wasn’t enough, since I do tend to have flexibility problems. I was able to find my favorite yoga tape on YouTube recently and hence my tears.   I’m so glad that I’ve added to my Yoga routine, and that I’m not insane.  If you don’t do Yoga, you should try it since the benefits just keep adding up.  If you do cry while doing certain poses, just know that you’re not alone.

http://ask.metafilter.com/144861/Why-do-I-get-emotional-during-one-particular-yoga-pose

https://blog.yogaglo.com/2012/10/why-are-students-overcome-with-emotions-after-yoga-class/

yoga-quotes-6

Leave a Reply

