Martin Luther King, Jr. – A Hero for All

theimpossibledreamquote

Today is the day that we celebrate Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  I’m ancient enough to remember Dr. King from the news, and the one thing about him that I’ll never forget is his “I’ve got a dream” speech.  At some point around the same time, I watched the movie Don Quixote de la Mancha”, with Peter O’Toole in the main role. The song “The Impossible Dream” also lives in my head, and I often think about it.  The two are inextricably linked in my mind, and whenever I think of Dr. King, I also picture Don Quixote tilting at his windmills.  Is not the search for equality, justice, compassion and understanding also tilting at windmills in our society?

kingspeechquote

So, it’s been forty-eight long years since this great man was assassinated.  I remember when it happened, and I can recall thinking, as only a very young child can, what was wrong with the person who killed him, and what was wrong with the people who celebrated it.  To me, he was a hero.  A person who wanted only equality, justice, compassion and understanding.  I still wonder how some people can be against that.  What is wrong with equality, justice, compassion and understanding.  Does equality take away?  Of course not, it makes life better for all.  What is done to one, can be done to all.  I’ll take equality, justice, compassion and understanding over anything else that is out there.  Wouldn’t you?

quote-i-have-a-dream-that-one-day-this-nation-will-rise-up-and-live-out-the-true-meaning-of-martin-luther-king-52-24-07

2 thoughts on “Martin Luther King, Jr. – A Hero for All

  1. Great post. Somehow in my mind The Impossible Dream and Don Quiote are also linked together. MLK Jr. was (and still is) a very inspiring man.

Leave a Reply

