Finding Motivation to Create Personal Change

images

Okay, so we’ve made goals and resolutions for the New Year.  Now comes the hard work to actually commit to change.  Change is hard.  It’s uncomfortable, it’s scary, and it can hurt.  I know that I’ve been doing things in the same way for years, and now when it comes time to change what has become comfortable, easy and normal, I don’t want to!  I know all the “bad” things that can happen if I don’t change.  My life, which I’m not happy with, won’t change, it will continue on the same safe path for the rest of my life.  That fact has finally become so upsetting to me, that I am now finding the motivation to begin my change.  I feel much more enthusiastic and looking forward to the changes that I want to make.

without-action-gandhi

So, now that I’m committed, my question is how do I stay on the path?  This time (yes, like many people I’ve been here before) is that this time I’ve been using affirmations like my life depends on it – and, in a way I believe that is true – that my actual life does depend on it.  Every year I get older, and every time I stop trying, it just gets harder and longer to make the physical changes that I want to make.  It also gets more difficult to make the emotional changes also.  My belief in myself was at an all-time low before I started with the affirmations.  I had been beaten down (not physically, but emotionally) by some of the people in my life.  They had me convinced that I was pretty worthless.  I still feel that way sometimes, but not as much as I did before.  I’m still fighting the battle, but it’s getting a little easier ever since I started with the affirmations.  Say it often enough, and you’ll begin to believe it.

2a9d9b8c1bc77af2e3bfdcbd4d998da9

I hope that I’ve given some of you hope.  This was a difficult post to write…I like to pretend that my life is all sunshine and roses, and that if we believe it, we can achieve it.  Deep down, I really think that way, however, there is a huge bridge to cross between belief and achievement.  My hope is that you, too, are on that bridge fighting for your personal changes with me.

inspirational-quote_3

3 thoughts on “Finding Motivation to Create Personal Change

  1. This was a very brave post. You CAN make the changes you need to. I like the affirmations you are doing. “Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.” (Proverbs 18:2, KJV). You have the choice to literally speak life or death. Choose life–as I know you will.

  2. Well done for writing this post. I think it’s honest and realistic. I agree there’s a lot of work to do between belief and achievement. Good luck and keep up those affirmations.

Leave a Reply

