Breaking my Schedule

5693690

I’ve been going to the library every Saturday for a while now.  It’s been great.  I get there at 10 and leave at 5 when they tell me I have to.  I’ve been thrilled with the amount of writing that has been going on during these highly productive Saturdays.

img_2699

So pretty, that snow!

But then, along came the snow, sleet and rain this past Saturday, and my productivity went completely down the drain, since my precious library was closed.  I only wrote two posts, and didn’t get any other writing done.  I had to deal with my family, my dogs and everything else that doesn’t fit into the library equation.  It sucked, and so did I.  My mood plummeted from mere annoyance into downright grumpiness.  It didn’t help that my husband was watching Netflix at top volume in the living room, which is right under my bedroom where I write, either.  Even with my earbuds in, and listening to music for writing and concentration, I could still hear every word said.  Since he gets angry if someone says anything to him about the volume, I had to just suck it up and deal with it.

1087845

I hadn’t realized how essential these Saturdays were to my mental health, writing and overall well-being until I was unable to go.  I look forward to them every week.  I love to have a quiet day to myself, and I really rely on the productivity of the day.  This coming Saturday I’ll be home, baking a pie and getting ready for all the festivities of the season.  I’m looking forward to going back to my Saturdays at the library once 2017 is here!

2 thoughts on “Breaking my Schedule

  1. Local libraries are great. I hope you get back there in the new year

Leave a Reply

