Why Not Getting Enough Sleep is Seriously Bad for You

garfield_free_sleep

I’ve posted about skipping sleep before.  I have a hard time forcing myself to go to bed, and I seldom get more than four to five hours of sleep a night.  I’ve always been a bit of a night owl, however over the years, I’ve gotten much worse.  At first it was babies being up all hours of the night, then came the night terrors.  But, for many, too many years, my sleep habits have been terrible.

d4189f2703307ce382a74f96c057b03d

When I do get jaw-crackingly tired, I still try to stay up!  The culprit is often a book, although I’ve been known to stay up playing Destiny, also.  In my defense, even though I may be exceedingly tired, there have been times when no matter how much I want to go to sleep, I haven’t been able to fall asleep.  However, the vast majority of time, I just don’t want to go to sleep, apparently, I’d much rather read than sleep.

However, as usual, there is scientific evidence that I should be getting more sleep.   Researchers have found that skipping sleep can cause inflammation in our organs, which can lead to immune system problems.  Since I suffer from Fibromyalgia, this skipping sleep is really a dumb idea, since I could be making my problems much worse.  http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2013/11/why-late-nights-are-bad-your-immune-system

Another scientific finding is that loss of sleep may lead to permanent loss of brain cells.  So, no!, I really need all the brain cells that I have.  There is also a process that removes toxins and waste from our brains while we sleep, and this in itself is extremely important for our brain cells.  So, yah, I think I really do need to get more sleep.  http://www.duqsm.com/sleep-is-not-for-the-weak-why-staying-up-late-is-bad-for-the-brain-and-body/

b6e601392c0a5517d47e46c08ca3066dabbcfe0f1c1485434bda265c5fa891be

Here’s another fact for you.  Not getting enough sleep can lead to a slowing down of the metabolic system, and lead to weight gain.  So, that explains it.  Another benefit is that when we sleep we produce HGH, which is the human growth hormone.  As we age, we produce more cortisol, which helps to age us.  So, if we sleep more, we’ll produce more HGH, which in turn will keep us from aging too fast.  http://www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/features/lack-of-sleep-weight-gain#1

http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=54286

And, finally, lack of sleep can make us more stressed.  Not getting enough sleep can affect up to 700 genes in our bodies, alter our hormones and lead to our inability to deal with stress.  http://www.pnas.org/content/110/12/E1132.abstract

4433a5893f8f37cea0b493cc254dc510

So, who’s for a really good 8 to 10 hours of sleep?  I know I am!

 

Leave a Reply

