Vegan Recipe, a new Blender & Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

 img_2645

I haven’t posted a vegan recipe in a while, so I thought that since I’ve just concocted a new one, I would share it.  This one is for stuffed roasted acorn squash.

img_2647

Stuffed Roasted Acorn Squash

I used two medium to large acorn squashes, cut in half, scoop out seeds and fibers, rub a small amount of oil on insides, put in pan with about a half cup or so of water, cover and bake at 400° or until the insides are soft.

While the squash is roasting, make rice, I used one cup of brown rice along with spices.  I love sage, rosemary, thyme and basil.

Then mince about half an onion, and some fresh mushroom, I used about a half cup each (next time I’ll use a full cup).  Sauté onion and mushrooms in oil along with minced garlic and spices such as sage, rosemary, thyme, basil, coriander, and whatever you like.  I also added some sun-dried tomatoes that I had on hand.  Once the squash is done, scoop out as much of the flesh as you can without compromising the skin, and mix the squash with the finished rice and everything you sautéed.  Then pack the mixture into your roasted acorn squash.  Simple, simple, simple.  I served this with left-over Italian bread and a salad.  It was quite a filling meal, and very delicious.

I’ve had a blender for 31 years that has served me faithfully.  However, about three years ago, it became clear that I could no longer pull the entire thing apart to clean it.  The little seal at the bottom was going to fall apart if I continued cleaning it.  So, as I used this blender every day, I was waiting for it to begin to seep.  However, it didn’t.  I realized not that long ago, that at some point the thing was just going to stop working.  Not only that, but it was never made to be used constantly, nor to be used to blend up all kinds of fruit.  When I came to this surprising revelation, I knew that I would have to replace it.  Along came the Black Friday sales, and I knew that now was the time.  So, my daughter and I went out after dinner one night and bought one that was on sale at BJ’s.  I can’t explain how this has changed my life!  I can put all kinds of fruit into it, and it actually works!  How wonderful is that?  And, most importantly of all, I got it at a bargain price.

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them

Okay, and now for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.  What a great movie!  As a Harry Potter fan, this movie was simply magical.  It was everything I hoped it would be.  The acting was good, the story-line was interesting, and the movie-making was magical.  If you haven’t seen it, do yourself a favor and do so.  3-D is great!

Leave a Reply

