Living With Chronic Pain

 39562-living-with-chronic-pain-quotes

As someone who suffers from chronic pain, but chooses not to use pharmaceuticals to deal with it, since I really don’t like the side effects.  Instead I tend to rely on over-the-counter remedies, but usually only when the pain is ridiculously intense.  To tell the truth, I will most likely only use over the counter relief for a headache, but not the chronic pain that I’m in.  In other words, I’ve been in constant pain since I was 39 years old.  Ask me how I like Fibromyalgia.  Please, just ask me.

fibro-520x245-1409458714

How do I deal with the pain?  Well, let’s just say that I’ve gotten really good at my dissociative behavior.  I do use it to the best of my ability.  At night when I can’t sleep due to pain, I imagine that I’m wrapping cotton padding around wherever the pain is.  With each pretend circuit around the pain, it lessens, until I can’t feel any pain at all.  This is something that I’ve been working at for years, and I have to admit that it works.  Of course, I’ve spent countless hours perfecting my technique.  You can try it also, but I don’t know if you’ll have the patience to work at it.  See, dissociative disorder can come in handy at times.  At least that’s what I tell myself.

However, I’ve recently come across some information that leaves me just the tiniest bit concerned for my long-term health.  Untreated chronic pain can lead to many other problems, including less sleep, exhaustion, more stress, relationship and work problems and psychological distress.  I’ve been living with pain for so long, that I can’t even imagine life without it.

At first, I was over-whelmed with the information that I was reading, and went into a tailspin (a usual reaction for me), but then I decided that I had to find some better ways of dealing with the pain.  I’ve gotten to the point that I don’t even look for new information to help deal with my Fibromyalgia issues, which is exceedingly remiss on my part.  Of course, there is new information coming out on a fairly regular basis.  I should be checking it out and seeing if there is anything new that can help me.

53f122f21a2ec9267db6a3fc49fdfd04

What did I find out?  Nothing really new, however there are things that I should be doing that I’ve let slide.  So maybe that could be why my pain has ratcheted up to a new level.  My work-outs haven’t been as consistent as they should be.  Neither have my sleeping patterns.  I’ve been shorting myself on sleep by staying up really late (I blame it all on the books)!  Then there is the fact that I haven’t been doing my Yoga, or meditations.  So, here we go again.  There are all these “things” that I should be doing, and I’m not.  However, one bright light is my affirmations.  Those have been going well, if I do say so myself.

So, what will I be doing?  Bedtime has got to change.  I now plan for hoping into bed by 10 at the very latest, and getting up every day at 5am.  Working out on a consistent basis is another change I plan to make.  And, afternoon Yoga along with a relaxation meditation to go along with it.  Do you suffer from chronic pain, and if so, how do you deal with it?  Let me know in the comments below.

https://www.painmanagement.org.au/2014-09-11-13-35-53/2014-09-11-13-36-47/178-psychological-effects-of-pain.htm

Leave a Reply

