NaNoWriMo, My First Saturday at the Library, and Happiness!

nanowrimo-2012-buttons

I’ve decided once again to try to “win” NaNoWriMo this month.  I’ve done this for a few years now, and have managed to write 50,000 words only twice. But here I am, giving it a try.  I’m kind of fudging it this year, since I’ve got a children’s book that I want to finish, and then some other projects to work on.  My goal is to finish the book that I’ve started, and to begin a series.  So, I do intend to write 50,000 words, just not an adult novel.  As far as I’m concerned, it’s the words, the dedication and the actual writing that count.  I don’t know if that’s okay, but that’s what I’m planning on doing.

1277730412-ritamaebrown_20quote

So, that being said, I went to my newly re-opened library, bright and early at 10:00 a.m. Saturday morning to begin.  First of all, I must say that my little library is now bigger, brighter and much more comfortable.  We’ve got room for all the books!  There are new overhead lights, so it’s much brighter, and the chairs are all new, and extremely comfortable.  There are new tables to sit at and write.  And, the desk chairs are new and padded!  I’m simply loving this.  When other people come in (and, may I say, how dare they!) I can just start to listen to my soothing, calming music and block them out.  The table that I picked to sit at was in a section that wasn’t too popular so that was a blessing.  I did get work done, so that’s really the only thing that counts.

funny-writing-quotes

I must admit that in order to go and do this I had to plan out what was for dinner, get all the prep work done, and hope that my elder dog didn’t have any “accidents”.  I planned a dinner of hamburgers (vegan), with a salad that I made before I left, and baked beans.  Since one of the things that I’m working on happens to be becoming more (and better) organized, this was a way to put it into practice.  So far, so good.  Next week I may actually make stew or something like that before I leave.  I’ll have to think about it.

Are any of you doing NaNoWriMo?  How is it going?  Let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo, My First Saturday at the Library, and Happiness!

  1. Brilliant! A lot of luck to you, that sounds fantastic 🙂 I think that does count – you can do just about what ever you want, as long as you write a lot of words, as far as I understand it. I am not taking part but I do find it all very exciting and I like hearing about everyone else doing it 🙂 Your library sounds great 😀

Leave a Reply

