Soup for When You’re Sick

sick-people-sick-people-everywhere

As you know I was sick for a while there.  Soup is of course, the meal to make you “better”, but when you’re sick, if you’re like me, you don’t feel good enough to make it.  On Tuesday I finally felt decent enough to make my go-to vegetable soup for sickies.  Here’s the recipe.

image-1

Vegan Vegetable Soup

2 cups celery, diced

2 cups carrots, diced

2 cups potatoes, diced

1 cup onion, diced

1 cup leeks, diced

1 tsp. minced garlic

1 cup lentils

6 to 8 cups water or vegetable broth (I use broth since it tastes good)

Just sauté the celery, carrots, onion, leeks and garlic for about 6 minutes, add the water and bring to a boil. Throw in the potatoes and lentils and cook for about 8 to 10 minutes.  Then leave on a low heat until veggies are cooked through the way you like.

For seasonings, I just throw in anything including, sage, thyme, rosemary, cilantro, basil, parsley, and whatever else I feel like.  I don’t measure, so my soup tastes a little different every time.  You can use whatever it is you feel like.

I made this in the morning so I could have it for lunch and dinner.  I served this for dinner with a French bread that I bought at the store.  Enjoy!  If you have any go-to soup for sickies, please share.

I hope that you all have a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

