Growing Older

25birthday20

I had a birthday this week and I have to admit, I had a tiny pity party.  It revolved around the question “is this all there is”?  I started thinking about all the things I haven’t done.  This, of course, is a long list, and is guaranteed to make me depressed.  Not that other things could also make me depressed – being another year older; feeling like an ancient old crone when I first get out of bed in the morning; realizing that I’ll probably never ride naked on the back of a motorcycle through the woods – you know, the normal, average everyday thoughts of someone who is getting older.

6434654_orig

I’m kind of looking forward to this!

So, I decided that I had to do something proactive about my little pity party.  I didn’t want it to go any further.  I’m making a list of all the things I want to do before I get “too old” to do them.  Then, I want to figure out which ones are truly feasible.  To tell you the truth, I really don’t think that riding a motorcycle naked through the woods is going to happen.  For one thing, I don’t have a motorcycle, for another, just think of all the obstacles I could get hit by.

getting-older

After I finish with my actual list, I’m going to look at them one-by-one and figure out how I can make them happen.  As always, moving forward is much better than looking back.  I can’t change the past, but can influence my future.

you-cant-help-getting-older-but-you-dont-have-to-get-old-quote-1

For now, I’ll continue claiming to be ten years younger than I am.  Remember, you’re only as old as you believe yourself to be!

Leave a Reply

