Do Your Actions Inspire?

My-actions-are-my-only-true-belongings.-I-cannot-escape-the-consequences-of-my-actions.-My-actions-are-the-ground-on-which-I-stand.Thich-Nhat-Hanh-Quotes

I came across the quote above a few days ago, and it set me back on my heels.  In my head, I try to be a “good” and loving person, but do my actions reflect that?  Like most people, I do have an “idea” of who I am.  However, I’ve been wondering if my actions reflect my intentions.

1431436843-5-quotes-get-you-off-fence-taking-action-1

I do struggle with this idea a lot.  There isn’t a whole lot of money left over at the end of the month, so I don’t give much money to charities.  There are so many charities out there that are doing great things, but I don’t contribute to them.  I spend a lot of time signing petitions and leaving personal comments.  I try to let others know what’s going on in the world if I’m asked.  However, am I always a loving and understanding person?

98da2e661ca37a2c895c09bbbe970121

The truth is, probably not.  I get upset, confused and overwhelmed.  I don’t hurt others deliberately, but I can be a sarcastic person at times.  When I’m being personally attacked (and it happens more often than not, due to one of my family members), I try to block out what that person is saying, and not respond.  My real problem is that I let what they say, even if there is absolutely no merit to the attack (as has been pointed out by various other people) undermine me.  This, of course, was the point of the diatribe, which says more about the other person than it does about me.  I do have a wicked tongue in my mouth, but I can’t recall a single time I let it loose.  Of course, the discourse in my head can be vicious, but like I said, it’s just in my head and not coming out of my mouth.

4585d31a6fd507986ed539fdbbc8f9e9

Do you struggle with your intentions versus your actions?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

