Taking Care of Yourself

Its-not-selfish-to-love-yourself-take-care-of-yourself-and-to-make-your-happiness-a-priority.-Its-necessary.

When I was a new mother, one of the first things people would say to me was that I needed to take care of myself, and that I wouldn’t be able to take care of my children if I didn’t take care of myself.  I always thought that was a pretty funny thing to say to a person who was up at all hours of the night and breast-feeding on demand.  Granted I’d always had a problem with the whole “take care of yourself” deal.  I’d always been such a low maintenance type person, that the idea of taking care of myself was completely foreign to me.  I’ve never dyed my hair; I’ve got blond eyebrows so there is little need of even tweezing them; I don’t wear nail polish so when my nails get too long I just cut them (no filing required); I shave my legs every so often (again the gift of blond hair); and I don’t usually use make-up.  Just what is this “taking care of yourself” thing?

gandalf_the_grey_by_cblair-d2qi97i

As I’ve gotten older, I realize that I really do need to indulge in some “self-care”.  If left to themselves, my eyebrows can get a real Gandalf thing going on.  Maybe I should try to at least look like a “grown-up” sometimes.  It’s not really okay to go years without cutting your hair, not to mention periodically hacking off your bangs, hoping that you didn’t cut them on an angle, and if you did, trying to fluff out what’s left to hide the fact.  And, I don’t really have to look like I just came up from the back 40 all the time.  This can include wearing those jeans that I have to haul up from falling off my butt since they’re as old as the hills and no longer fit.  Unfortunately, my idea of getting dressed up includes wearing what my daughter has informed me is known as “athleisure”.  My response is, “but it’s comfortable!” said with a whine in my voice.  Really, does she want me to look like the Queen?

But, all that being said, I do get the healthy reasons for taking care of yourself.  After all, I make sure that I eat right, exercise and go to bed at a decent hour.  So, I understand that part.  It’s actually anything that translates into the “looks” department that I have a hard time with.  I don’t really know where that all came from, but I’m trying.  I’ve been replacing my Elmer Fudd wardrobe with “athleisure” since it’s nice and comfy, and actually looks decent.  And, I’ve been impressed with the fact that I do need to have a few pieces that are really “dress up” clothes.

self-care-habit1

Small steps.  I’ll report on this process as it goes on.  How about you?  What do you do to take care of yourself?

Leave a Reply

