Fresh Peach and Blueberry Pie – Vegan Recipe

 peachesandblueberries

I haven’t posted any vegan recipes for quite a while now, and I thought that I’d share this pie that I made on Sunday morning with you.  My family loves it, so I hope that it’ll be a hit with you, too.

peachpie

I used the Fresh Peach Pie recipe found in my copy of the Betty Crocker Cookbook that I received upon my marriage from my Mom.  She was hoping that I would become a better cook, but unfortunately, to this day I remain a much better baker than a cook.  Here’s the recipe with one or two changes for those of us who prefer the vegan version, along with the ever important blueberries, of course:

9-inch pie:

Pastry for 9-inch two-crust pie

4 cups sliced fresh peaches (about 7 medium peaches)

2 pints fresh blueberries

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 cup sugar

¼ cup all-purpose flour (I use King Arthur flour since it’s un-bleached, but of course you can use any kind you prefer)

¼ teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon or so of almond extract

1 tablespoon vegan butter

Heat oven to 425o  Prepare pastry.  Mix peaches, blueberries, lemon juice, sugar, flour, cinnamon and almond extract.  Turn into pastry in pie plate; dot with vegan butter.  Cover with top crust that has slits cut in it; seal and flute.  Brush vegan milk on the top; sprinkle with sugar.  I put the pie on top of a cookie sheet as my pies tend to bubble over – it could just be that I’m a messy person, and make messy food, but I’d rather do that then clean the oven.  I completely cover the top with aluminum foil, as my oven tends to burn the top.  I then remove the foil for the last 15 or so minutes of baking.

Bake until crust is brown and juice begins to bubble through slits in the crust, 35 to 45 minutes.  Take out, cool and serve!

IMG_4935

If you do use the recipe, let me know if you enjoyed the pie.

Leave a Reply

