Singing to my Dogs

4798_l

Just not everyone wants to hear it!

 

I have to confess.  I sing to my dogs whenever I’m at home alone with them.  I will sing nonsense lyrics in various styles.  My favorite is opera, which I tend to sing quite loudly.  When the weather is nice and the windows are open, I try to sing in a less exuberant manner.  So, you may ask if my dogs like to be sung to.  Well, I don’t really think that they like opera.  They often look at me as if I were insane, (that’s actually a good question).

eeaaefe7b30b2114f99d1e7d80072aed

I also sing while I take them for a walk.  This can, of course, lead to a few embarrassing moments.  Usually when I walk them during the week, no one is out and about.  After all, I do live in a rural area.  However, this nonsensical singing did, in fact, lead to one embarrassing moment recently.  I was happily walking and singing while trying to rhyme my lyrics – leading naturally to some silly lines – when I suddenly realized that I was not alone.  I was walking near some solar-energy guys who were putting up panels at the house I was walking by.  Once I realized that I was not alone, I stopped singing, and said hello to them.  They then clapped and whistled, telling me that my song had made their day.  I was a total diva and curtsied, doffing my invisible hat.  I then continued on my merry way, but didn’t sing again until I was sure I was alone.

65297332e6cfd35dcbc91f0583ba4cc8

Of course, the one thing that I haven’t confessed to is that I have a terrible voice.  I have an extremely flat voice.  Seriously.  I think the only reason that I’m not tone-deaf is due to my playing the flute for many many years.   My mom and sister have really good voices, my dad is tone-deaf (that doesn’t stop him from singing) so I’m sure that’s where my charming voice comes from.  I also sang to my kids when they were young, and if I didn’t remember the actual lyrics, I simply made them up.  This lead to some strange consequences when my daughter was positive that the real lyrics to “Hush Little Baby” were the wrong ones (informing her teacher that she was wrong), and the ones that I made up were the right ones.  She was very upset with me when I told her that I had indeed made the lyrics up.  Hey, I can’t help it if I get “creative” with lyrics!

tumblr_inline_mm9gtmhCKE1rc1v3r

To make matters even worse, I’m one of those people who sit in the car at red lights singing along to the radio while playing air guitar.  I try to reign myself in when I’ve got passenger’s, but seriously, we only have one life to live, and singing while playing air guitar is one of life’s little pleasures!

be0443f64bc28402d4312647e5a97b06

So, my question to you is, am I the only one who walks around making up songs?  Does anyone else sing to their dogs or cats?  Let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Singing to my Dogs

  1. I definitely sing in the car. It’s fun doing the Macarena or the YMCA motions while retaining a firm grip on the steering wheel!

Leave a Reply

