The War on Women Part 4B – The Pink Tax in Social Issues Sereies

pink-tax1

I actually wanted to start out this part with a personal story.  When I was seven years old I was given three paper routes by our paperboy.  These routes included one morning paper and two afternoon papers.  I’m sure that this story would raise some eyebrows since I was only seven, however I was the scrappiest seven year old tomboy you’ve ever seen.  I fought with the boys, ran faster and longer than the boys and could climb a tree faster than any of them.  I basically was a boy.  Since I had these paper routes my parents decided that I would have to buy my own clothes.  The first time I went shopping I gravitated to the boys section because they had much more colorful and exciting underpants.  I wanted the Spider-man and Superman undies.  When my Mother brought me over the girl’s underwear, I looked at the prices, (I was a burgeoning tight-wad) and discovered that the boy’s underwear was much cheaper.  I was sold!  From then on, until I was in college (and beyond) I wore boy’s undies, pants and shirts.  The prices were less, they fit fine and no one could tell – or if they could I didn’t care.  I worked hard for my money and I wasn’t going to pay more just because I was a girl.  This, at age seven was my introduction to the “pink tax”.  Prices are higher simply because I’m female.

pink tax2

I know that some people claim there is no “pink tax” and that the idea of one is “all in our heads” (this is simply a perpetration of all the other things that are “all in our heads”), however one only has to do a little research and it is revealed to be a real thing!

pinktax3

In studies comparing the price of women’s products compared to the exact same product marketed to men, there was a price difference with the women’s products selling for a higher price (razors, deodorant, shaving cream and clothing).  Women also pay tax on staples of necessities such as menstruation products (hardly a “luxury”) and some over the counter drugs that are marketed to women.  Other products such as diapers are also taxed.

enhanced-buzz-wide-5665-1411486299-15

The insidious problem of the “pink tax” is the fact that not only do women pay more for products, but they also get paid less.  This of course leaves us with even less money at the end of the day.

What are your thoughts on this subject?  Do you have a story regarding the “pink tax” that you’d like to share with the rest of us?  How has this affected your bottom line (so to speak)?

http://money.usnews.com/money/personal-finance/articles/2016-02-17/the-pink-tax-why-womens-products-often-cost-more

http://money.cnn.com/2016/02/03/news/female-male-products-pricing-boots/

http://money.cnn.com/2016/01/29/pf/taxes/tampon-tax/index.html?iid=EL

 

 

Leave a Reply

