Trying New Things

 All-life-is-an-experiment.-The-more-experiments-you-make-the-better.’-Ralph-Waldo-Emerson-quote-about-trying-new-things

Everything changes. That must be a truism or something. Anyway, I’ve been trying new things lately. On Sunday, my daughter and I hiked a new (to us) wooded trail on the Air Line Trail. We were surprised, since it was shorter than we thought, but we compensated for that by hiking along some trails that went through the woods down to the river and then back up. Our dog was beyond thrilled with all the new sights and smells. It was a peaceful time spent in nature.

45d84289c2889730fcadfc5b6ab52dc9

Another new thing I’m trying is some fitness workouts with Fitness Blender. No, I’m not getting paid to promote them, I just wanted a change. Their YouTube is full of lots of different workouts, so no boredom there. It’s also kicking my butt, which to tell you the truth is exactly what I needed.

newthings-481x230

The point of this is that doing the same thing day after day really is not good for us. Apparently there are benefits to our brains when we try something new. All I know is, after our walk through the woods, I felt really energized. It was something that I would never have tried on my own, since we went down paths that were not really maintained and if I’d been alone I would have worried that I’d get lost. Seriously, I can get lost in my closet. I have no sense of direction and can get turned around quite easily.

I’ve included some links about why trying new things is good for us. Have you tried something new recently? Comment below, I’d like to see what others are up to.

http://www.thefrisky.com/2015-06-01/do-something-new-the-science-of-embarrassment/

http://www.brainhq.com/why-brainhq/brain-training-your-way/12-benefits-of-brain-fitness/trying-new-things

 

2 thoughts on “Trying New Things

  1. Great quotes. I always feel re-energised when I do something new.

Leave a Reply

