My Joy

03-BLOG-Word-JOY

This past week had some really joyful aspects to it. Although I know that I can be child-like as far as finding true joy (sunsets, animals), I am really glad that I haven’t ever placed joy in material things. Blowing bubbles has always been a go-to in fighting depression, sadness or even despair.

Some of the things that made me joyful this past week are:

airline trail

Walking the Air Line Trail – my daughter and I decided that one of our joint resolutions this year would be to hike and walk more. Our first excursion was walking the Air Line Trail (a walk-way that was made by paving over a train-track) that is next to a small plane airfield. We walked the trail on Sunday morning, and it was windy but wonderful. Next week we plan to walk on one of the trails that goes through the woods.

luck movie

Lucy – I watched the movie Lucy and must say that it was much different than I thought it would be. I really liked it, since the focus was on the brain, how little brain capacity we actually use, and the theories of what would happen if we used more of it. I’m still thinking about it, and as far as I’m concerned that’s what a good movie should do for you.

IMG_1717

Bob’s Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix – Veganized – The first day that I was supposed to make this soup for dinner, I completely forgot that I had to soak the beans overnight. However, it was so good the next day that I know I’ve got to buy another bag as soon as I can. I used the recipe on the back except for the non-vegan parts. I veganized it by adding 2 cups each of carrots and celery, 2 potatoes and 2 onions. I also threw in about a tablespoon of Chia seeds. Then I added a bunch of different spices, including basil, cumin, rosemary, thyme, oregano, pepper, and a pinch of salt. Yum!

creative_writing1

Book – I got the first chapter written for the book that I’m writing for a young friend of mine. And, I even illustrated it, with much help from my much more artistic daughter, and was able to give it to him. I felt so creative!

zz-EasternBluebird1

Bluebirds of Happiness – Even though it’s still February, I’ve spotted two pairs of Bluebirds.  I love these birds since they are so beautiful – they are also rumored to bring happiness to those who see them.

So yes, it’s been a joy-filled week.

joyinsideout

2 thoughts on “My Joy

  1. This is a really nice post. I really like your theme of Joy. The film looks interesting. I might check it out. The book you are making sounds really interesting. What a lovely idea for a gift.

Leave a Reply

