What is Oil Pulling?

oilPulling

There has been some talk about how unsafe toothpaste can be. I like to use Arm & Hammer toothpaste, since I know that one of the best things you can use to clean your teeth is baking soda. If you’ve ever tried using baking soda, you know that it can be a less than happy experience. Also, you aren’t supposed to use straight baking soda on a daily basis. I do like the benefits since it does get rid of any tartar build up you might have. I use a toothpaste that’s a combination of baking soda and peroxide. I like it, and feel that it works great for me. That being said, there are other ways of keeping the inside of your mouth healthy and one of them is called oil pulling.

common-oils-for-oil-pulling

Oil pulling consists of putting about a teaspoon full of oil (usually coconut) in your mouth, swishing it around and pushing it between your teeth for 20 to 30 minutes, and then spitting the oil out. This is a very old practice, and according to various studies actually works.
http://www.webmd.com/oral-health/features/oil-pulling

pvctoothbrush

This process is really beneficial to your health as it helps prevent gingivitis, plaque and bad breath. Also, if you chose to use coconut oil the lauric acid which it contains helps to prevent cavities. http://www.webmd.com/oral-health/picture-of-the-teeth
I’ve always been a fanatic about my teeth. Because I brush my teeth too hard, I use a child-size soft toothbrush. I will also brush my teeth for quite a while. I got my first cavity at the age of 30 and have never gotten over it. I hate to go to the Dentist and actually sweat and shake while in the chair. If I were to have nightmares over anyone in the medical profession, it would be Dentists.

scary_dentist_by_kyolover123456789-d4hz9fp

Here is another article regarding oil pulling from a dental point of view. Please note that it says that oil pulling should not replace visits to the dentist or brushing your teeth. http://www.dentistryiq.com/articles/2014/03/how-dental-professionals-can-respond-to-oil-pulling-patients.html

If you haven’t tried this process, I would suggest that you only do it for about five minutes to start, (20 is so long) and you can add to the time as you go. If you feel that your teeth and mouth are cleaner, just keep it up. However, never swallow the oil. Always spit it out! You only need to do this once a day. Let me know how it works for you.

Leave a Reply

