Hello, I’m Rabbit! Who Are You?

Pooh8

When I was young, I absolutely loved Winnie-the-Pooh. Not the one you can watch on T.V., but the actual books that A.A. Milne wrote. Since I had no-one to play with (my sister was older than I was, and much too “cool” to play with me), I lived in an imaginary world with everyone from the One Hundred Acre Woods. One of my nicknames was Christopher Robin, and I went on many adventures with Pooh, Piglet, Tigger, Eeyore and of course Rabbit. Now I always loved Pooh, but I really had a major affection for Tigger. Who could possibly not like Tigger? He was funny, happy and full of energy! However, a few years ago, I came to the conclusion that although I can act like Tigger every now and then, underneath it all, I’m really Rabbit with Eeyore thrown in every once in a while.

pooh watermarked

This was a most disappointing breakthrough. After all, who really wants to be the worry-wart? Well, recently I’ve found a little bit of a silver lining to this unfortunate realization. It seems that the anxious and worriers among us may indeed be more intelligent and creative than those who don’t over think. http://www.dailykos.com/story/2016/01/21/1472973/-New-study-reveals-worriers-and-over-thinkers-tend-to-have-high-IQs-and-are-linked-to-creative-genius?detail=email
Well! That is a nice thing to know! Especially for someone who responds to a problem with Rabbits’ “Oh dear! Oh d-d-dear!” The wonderful thing about this research is that all this worrying, over-thinking and stressing makes me highly imaginative! Look at that, all my hand-wringing can have a positive effect on my brain functions! How cool is that? Dr. Perkins states that all that stressing can lead to solutions that a non-worrier may over look. See, my overthinking about problems can lead to solutions! And, as a plus, just think of all the creative geniuses who have been worriers, Vincent Van Gogh, Charles Darwin, etc. etc.

winnie_the_pooh__17342-1313677936-1280-1280

So, I guess that being like Rabbit may have its upside. I now know I’m a creative genius – so that’s where my insane imagination comes from. Now, you must excuse me, I hear the call of the One Hundred Acre Woods.  Tigger is hoping for an adventure and I don’t want to be left out!

2 thoughts on “Hello, I’m Rabbit! Who Are You?

  1. I too am a bit of a rabit. I always seen that aspect of myself negatively so it’s really good to learn the more positive aspects of this trait. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

