Despair, Sadness and Hope?

george-eliot-author-quote-but-what-we-call-our-despair-is-often-only

On Wednesday, I received some bad news. Although it’s not my news, it has however affected my life and my mental health. I can only say that a family I am close to has been ripped apart. It looks like they will not be spending Christmas together, and one family member has been sent away across the country.

Mahatma-Gandhi-quotes-despair-quotes-truth-and-love-quotes

There is really nothing that I can do, and herein lays my problem. I. Cannot. Do. Anything.  For someone who strangely believes somewhere in my heart of hearts that if I only try hard enough, I can save the world, this is devastating. On some level, I truly believe that if I only love hard enough, big enough, I can “fix” anything. When I can’t (because this is not possible), my heart lays bleeding on the floor. You would think that after all these years I would get used to it, but no…each and every time this happens, it hurts just as if it were the first time.

love_will_save_the_world_by_micouture

I have indeed come up with a few things that I hope I will be allowed to do. I can write letters and send cards. I an offer emotional support to those family members I can. This was the worst possible outcome, and the only thing I can do is offer my heart-felt support and love.  For my own mental health I need to focus on what I can do.

LOVE-logo-e1430251188287

I don’t think I’m a super-hero, wielding love as my super power. But wouldn’t that be the best super power? A love that solves all problems. If only.. So, I need to stop my descent into despair and sadness and concentrate on how I can help.  It’s the only thing that will save me.

2 thoughts on “Despair, Sadness and Hope?

  1. This is a really good post. It’s honest but realistic. Sometimes when someone’s world falls apart what they actually need is love.

    • Thank you. It’s been a really hard time for all concerned – and of course the fact that Christmas is right around the corner doesn’t help. I’ve found out that I can send cards and give gifts, so that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

