Dealing with Despair

Only-a-soul-full-of-despair-can-ever-attain-serenity-and-to-be-in-despair

The dictionary defines despair as “to no longer have any hope or belief that a situation will improve or change”. I don’t know about you, but I feel this way quite often. There a “things” going on in the world, and right at home that make me question my belief in hope. With all the evil out there, and believe me, not only is it there on a global scale, but also on a personal scale as well; I find my hope draining away. Is this just me, or what?

george-eliot-author-quote-but-what-we-call-our-despair-is-often-only

For every hopeful story, there are twenty filled with evil and hopelessness. How do we continue on? What do we do when our reserves of hope are empty?

b9c729495d6c7af1f466c1807cefa4cb

I guess the only thing that I can do, even though I feel like I’ve lost hope for us, the world and the future, is to carry on. Really, I don’t believe that it’s time for me to lay down and die yet. While there is life, isn’t there still hope?

never-despair-but-if-you-do-work-on-in-despair-quote-1

2 thoughts on “Dealing with Despair

  1. I really like the George Elliott quote. I can relate to that. You post title as a typo – depair.

Leave a Reply

