The Benefits of Magnesium

I wrote a while ago about the natural things that I do to deal with my Fibromyalgia. These include some form of exercise daily and supplements. One of the supplements that I take is magnesium. That works well for my pain, but I recently began taking it from a different company, and I apparently don’t know how to read the directions. So, over the course of a few weeks I began waking up to aches and pains that I’d never had before. Since I’d just had a birthday, I thought that I was simply getting old, but as the days went on, my aches and pains were getting worse and worse. I finally (yes, I’m that person), looked at the directions on my new bottle of magnesium. What did I find? I’ve been taking one-fourth of the recommended dosage. Yes, I know…how foolish of me. Of course, since I checked the dosage I’ve been taking what I should have and I’ve been feeling a little better every day. Now when I wake up I feel like a 75 year-old instead of 125!

I thought that I’d give you a little more information about the benefits of taking magnesium, so that you can decide for yourselves whether it would be a beneficial supplement for you.  First of all, magnesium is a mineral that the benefits of include: keeping the blood pressure normal, bones strong and heart rhythm steady. However, the main reason I suggest it for those who have chronic pain is that it can help fight off inflammation which is a factor in some diseases associated with chronic pain. http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-and-supplements/lifestyle-guide-11/supplement-guide-magnesium

Of course, the best way to get more magnesium is to eat food rich in the mineral.  I do that, but I find that I really need the supplement also.  Some foods that are rich in magnesium include:  black beans, spinach, pumpkin seeds, avocados, swiss chard, soybeans, oatmeal and many others.

Another good resource is:
http://www.ancient-minerals.com/magnesium-deficiency/need-more/
This is a fact sheet that will help you decide whether or not you need more magnesium in your diet. According to this, most of the U.S. population doesn’t get enough of this mineral. I am including another good article for you here.
http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-supplements/ingredientmono-998-magnesium.aspx?activeingredientid=998&activeingredientname
As someone who has gone without my supplement, let me tell you that I’m going to check all my bottles and make sure that I’m getting the correct dosage. This was a lesson I wish that I didn’t have to learn, but it was also a scary thing, as I realized how much pain I’m in on a daily basis. I found it quite frightening. I’m way too young to feel like a 125 year-old!

Leave a Reply

