Reading to Children

My son recently told me that my reading to him and his sister when they were young was the best thing I ever did for them. He particularly loved The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogy. Of course, I read those books when both my kids were way too young. He was probably 6 and his sister was 3 when I started The Lord of the Rings. However, I believe that there comes a time in a child’s life when the mother is tired of reading “age appropriate” books, and decides to read what they themselves want to hear. Or maybe that was just me, but seriously, how many times can you read the Laura Ingalls Wilder books? I think six times was my limit.

What was so great about these books is that my kids both have a fabulous vocabulary. In fact, when I home schooled, The Lord of the Rings was where I got their vocab words for the week; well, that and Shakespeare. And speaking of Shakespeare we also would have insult fights based on Shakespeare’s fantastic insults that pepper his works. Not only were they introduced to the Bard, they could insult with the best of them! Always a good skill to have. You never know when you’ll need a clever, inventive insult.

If you don’t read to your kids every night, you should definitely start. We had great talks about the characters and plots of the books I read to them. It was a wonderful way to find out what they thought of my own favorite characters. The best thing for me was that we were able to go on adventures together without leaving the house. Reading to your children is a great bonding experience. I’m so glad that I spent that time reading to them.

Leave a Reply

