Journaling

Like many people, I journal. I don’t write nearly as often as I’d like to, but I do keep a journal and try to write my thoughts, etc. down at least once a month. It helps me to sort out my feelings, keep track of my goals, and figure out where I stand on many issues.

I also use journaling as a way to sort through issues that I find too upsetting to talk about with anyone else. When I haven’t written in my journal in a while, I begin to feel upset. I find that I really need that outlet. As a child my diary was full of all the petty (and not so petty) injustices that go along with being young. Now my journaling can be full of frustration; but also full of ideas for solutions.

Over the years, I’ve also realized that some problems happen over and over again, and have found ways to rectify that (if I can). The patterns that emerge when reading over old journals can be a scary proposition. Sometimes it feels like I’m not getting anywhere, that I’m just running in the same place on my little wheel.

However, journaling has been found to have some health benefits. http://psychcentral.com/lib/the-health-benefits-of-journaling/

In this article, some of the benefits include strengthening your immune cells, can decrease symptoms of asthma and rheumatoid arthritis. There is also evidence that writing about stressful events helps you come to terms with those events. If you can reduce your stress, that in turn can help your physical conditions. If you haven’t tried it, I suggest that you do. I find it to be very helpful to write down my thoughts, work through my problems and hopefully find a solution. Sometimes the process can take a few months to work out, but I find that I feel better once I’ve written in my journal. Do you journal, and if so, have you found it to be helpful?

3 thoughts on “Journaling

  1. I like to think of it as a mental facial 😉

  2. I have been trying to get into the journaling habit. I know it’s really useful but I haven’t yet established a routine.

Leave a Reply

