Stepping Back and Going Forward

Sometimes we have to step backward in order to move forward. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. Ever since I injured my foot, I’ve literally been knocked off my feet, and forced to rethink a number of things. I have spent most of my life taking my body for granted and using it in any number of ways that have totally disregarded caring for it. I’ve always used my body for hard labor, from completely shoveling snow from my driveway and sidewalk myself from the age of seven; to hauling 6’ X 6’ Sheetrock up three flights of stairs. That would be fine if I had also let myself soak in the tub afterward, or taken the aches and pains into consideration. However, like a lot of people, I never did. While my husband was away working in Russia and I was home alone with two small children, I also shoveled the driveway; hauled and stacked huge piles of wood; and made the kindling.  Again, with little to no downtime, treating my body as an endless commodity that would never wear out.

Now I’m at the other end of the spectrum, and am being made aware that I’ve repeatedly injured my body due to my own stubbornness. I truly thought that I’d never get to this point. The point where my body has had enough, and now has forced me into a degree of rest. For a number of years I’ve been denying that I’m indeed getting one year older every year on my birthday. Imagine the surprise of that! I planned that this would never happen to me, and that I’d stay 35 forever. So much for plans, I guess.

So, now that I’m forced to sit down and stop, I’m finding that I can’t stand it! I want to go for a walk. I want to get outside and into nature. Books can only occupy me for so long! That one was a shock, to tell you the truth. I hadn’t realized how much I enjoyed my walks, nor how important they were to me. What am I going to do now? I’m going to modify my workouts, soak my foot, and hope for the best. What else is there? And, need I say it? Getting older really really sucks!

Leave a Reply

