It’s My Choice!

This is something that I’m informed of almost every time that I order a vegan meal. It doesn’t matter who it is that I’m sitting across from, this is the reaction. I don’t even have to say anything – in fact I usually don’t. I’ve learned over the past few years to just keep my mouth shut. Why would I willingly open myself up to criticism over my food and lifestyle choices? As anyone who is vegan will attest, we hear the following way too often “But what about protein?” “I love bacon, lol!”

Of course, it’s beyond me when someone tells me of their love of bacon, as if this love doesn’t cause insane amounts of terror and agony to another living species. You’d have to be living under a rock to not know exactly how your precious meat comes to your plate. The numbers of stories that have been all over the nightly news, etc. just in the past year are astonishing.

http://www.foxbusiness.com/industries/2015/08/27/graphic-video-shows-mcdonalds-tyson-supplier-stabbing-chickens/

http://www.inquisitr.com/2243316/tyson-foods-factory-farm-targeted-with-torture-accusations-disturbing-footage/

There are more news stories, but I’m sure that you know where this is going. So what if it’s your choice? If you were really happy about this choice, I’m sure you wouldn’t feel the need to jump all over me for my choice of food and lifestyle. Why when I keep my mouth shut and simply order do you feel obligated to rant at me?

The interesting thing is that years ago it was also “someone’s” choice to smoke – or, more accurately, to blow smoke in my face. Remember when this was a person’s “choice”, and the rest of us had to deal with it? My great-aunt, who never smoked a day in her life, suffered years and years with breathing problems and eventually died of lung cancer, due to my great-uncle “choosing” to smoke in the house.

Like most choices that we all make on a daily basis, this choice also has consequences for other people. The environmental impact of factory farming is unbelievable. This in turn impacts many other people from the droughts in California to the starving peoples of Africa.

http://www.nrdc.org/water/pollution/nspills.asp

http://www.sustainabletable.org/265/environment

https://www.dosomething.org/facts/11-facts-about-factory-farms-and-environment

As you can read for yourself, this choice has some pretty major impacts on the rest of us. I often get the comment that one vegan won’t change anything; and is it worth the “trouble” of not eating meat and dairy.  As you can see from the carbon footprint graph below, there is indeed a positive consequence to one person becoming vegan.

Think about it.  Please, for the environment, for the animals and for yourself.

Leave a Reply

