Attempting New Things

I have to admit that I am absolutely terrified. I’m attempting to obtain my Coaching Certificate via an on-line program. This will be the first time that I’ve gone to any form of school in over 25 years. Plus, this is the first time that I’ve attempted anything “new” in quite a while. When I signed up for this course yesterday afternoon, I thought that I was going to be sick. I’m so nervous about the whole thing. But “putting myself out there” is so not what I’m good at.

It’s not like I haven’t been thinking about doing this for a long time. Actually I’ve been thinking about getting a Coaching Certificate for a number of years. As with anything, I had to think about it for a while, get my finances organized, and get my self-confidence up. In order to follow-through on anything, I always have to first make a purchase that I need to justify. So, I bought a refurbished off-lease laptop on Saturday. I knew that if I was going to actually do the certificate program, I was going to need my own computer to use. (When my husband is home, he’s on the computer and there’s no getting him off it). Then, on Sunday I actually paid for the program.

So, here I am a student after all these years. And terrified of it. I don’t really know why I’m so nervous. If there was ever anything I was good at, it was being a student. I love to learn, but it’s been so long! Have you gone back to school after being away for a long time; and how did it go?

Leave a Reply

