Comparing Ourselves to Others…and Coming Up Short

I’ve been thinking about the effects that Social Media plays on the way we view ourselves.  In one way Social Media can be great – you can surround yourself with positive thinking; motivations; and affirmations.  My favorite Instagram accounts are positive with lots of motivation and affirmations.  However, they are also full of great photos; happy people and fulfilled lives.  Do I sound jealous?  Yes, of course I do.

Other people’s lives look so much better on Social Media.  But, I have to keep reminding myself that there is another side to the story.  The parts that aren’t posted…the blood, sweat and tears that it took to get where they are.  Anyone can rather easily make their lives look “great”.  I too could post pictures depicting how fabulous my life is.  But, this is something I choose not to do.  For one thing, I don’t feel that would be true.  I’m in the midst of the blood, sweat and tears.  For every step forward I take, I feel myself sliding two steps back.  Change is hard.  Life is difficult.  Sometimes I feel besieged on all sides; with everyone I know against me.

So, I guess that I’ll continue accepting the motivations and affirmations that I receive from the posts I “like”, knowing that they help me in my forward movement.  I just have to keep reminding myself that my favorite Instagram people also put in the time and effort to get to their happy, fulfilling lives.

I think this is something that many of us should remind ourselves of.  It can’t just be me who feels this way.

Leave a Reply

