Dancing and Your Brain

I have a secret, well, it’s not really a secret, but it’s something I do when there is no one else at home. This behavior began when I was a kid, and watched Soul Train on Saturdays every time the rest of the family left to go somewhere. How I get to dance now usually goes like this: the car will pull out of the driveway, I look to make sure it continues down the street; and then I run around the house like a mad woman, trying to decide what I’ll dance to. What mood am I in? Is it a Billy Idol day or a John Lee Hooker kind of day? Or, how about something else; I’ve been known to dance madly to Rob Zombie’s American Witch, or AC/DC’s You Shook Me All Night Long. But there is one thing that absolutely has to happen. I need to have the house to myself. Only then can I be the dancing maniac that I really am.

I don’t think that I’m alone in my dancing madness. I absolutely love to dance, and find that if I can do it on a regular basis I’m a lot happier. The surprising thing that I’ve found is that it can make you smarter, too. A study by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine
http://examinedexistence.com/dancing-helps-the-brain-function-better/
shows that dancing helps to make new neural paths. These paths are necessary for improving brain function and learning. Researchers have also found that dancing reduces stress; improves bone health, and helps in lessening depression. Dancing is also being used as therapy for people with illnesses such as Parkinson Disease.

http://www.brainfacts.org/sensing-thinking-behaving/movement/articles/2009/dancing-and-the-brain/

So, have I been improving my brain function from dancing like a nut every chance I get, for years? Yes! I knew I was a making myself both smarter and giving myself a workout. Now, when did you people say you were leaving the house?

2 thoughts on “Dancing and Your Brain

  1. Thanks for sharing this. You may like some of my posts under the dance category on the right of my blog. I am a dancing maniac as well….but not just at home. I go out every Friday and often Saturday. For me it is heaven to connect with others in this way. I just go for it…..uninhibited.

    Happy dancing to you!

    Suzanne
    learningtocry.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

