How to Satisfy Cravings While Remaining Vegan

Since I try not to eat prepared foods, there have been times since I’ve become Vegan that my cravings for, oh let’s say chocolate and peanut butter have simply driven me crazy. Easter was especially difficult this year. What do I do? My favorite way of dealing with that kind of craziness is to make a smoothie with bananas, peanut butter, cocoa, Almond Milk, and coconut sugar. A fabulous treat, and still healthy, so a win-win.

There is also a wonderful meal called nice cream that you can make.  This can be made out of bananas, any other fruit you can imagine, Almond Milk and either Vanilla extract or Almond Extract. Blend them together and freeze for as long as you like (if you can wait that long). You’ve got nice cream.

For those of you who don’t mind eating prepared foods, there are various Vegan alternatives to home-made treats.  As a matter of fact you can even find chocolates that are vegan. I keep telling myself I’ll try these, but have yet to do so. One of these days I’ll have to take the plunge.

So, for all of you who think that Vegans deny themselves deliciousness, you are so wrong! The grocery store abounds with prepared foods from either soy-based, almond, or coconut-based vegan ice cream to Clif Bars. Just take a look. They are usually healthier for you than the non-vegan alternatives. Try them and let me know how you like them.

Leave a Reply

