These are a few of my Favorite Things

I don’t usually talk about where I find my happiness. I wonder why that is? Maybe I’m too focused on doing and accomplishing here. But I did want to talk about what makes me happy.

Can we go yet?

Can we go yet?

Walking thrills me. Really, it’s true. I walk every day during the week, but four days out the week I take my Border Collie for a walk at 4:50 am. We practically run, since if we don’t he would spend the whole time sniffing and peeing. Lovely, right? We run across all kinds of animals on these walks. A few weeks ago, I spotted something – not completely sure if it was an opossum or a skunk, running across a field right toward us. In the pre-dawn half-light, all I could see was the white back. You should have seen us run! I’m sure we looked completely comical as I ran down the street pulling my dog behind me. But we often see the turkeys moseying along across a field or crossing the road. I can’t wait to see their babies, so cute. There is a little mini-farm down the road from me, so we can hear the roosters from a long way away. There are also lambs and ducks there along with the hens. But the most exciting things are the horses. Horses are so curious they come over to see us most mornings, just wanting to say hi. Every once in a while I’ll get a glimpse of some deer in the fields. That’s a real bonus to getting up so early. flowers1

Nature is another thing that I need just like I need to drink about a gallon of water every day. Going for a walk helps, but watching the sunrise or sunset is one of my necessities for happiness. I also love to watch the greening of the trees, and the flowering of my plants. Great stuff!

My nature lawn filled with violets and dandelions.

My natural lawn filled with violets and dandelions.

My pets have always added so much happiness to my life. My Border Collie has the biggest personality I’ve ever seen in a dog. He is hysterical, whether running around the house at top speed while snorting and pretending to be a warthog, or cleaning himself like a cat, life is never boring with him around. Our other dog, a mixed breed is a real lady…until dinner-time, then you had better watch out or you’ll be stampeded to death. She goes with me on shorter walks since she broke a leg a few years ago, and it’s gotten a little arthritic as she’s aged. We also have a cat (my granddaughter) who is of course the Queen of the World. She’s got the loudest purr and only wants to be with my daughter. She’s the most loving cat I’ve ever seen.

Just sunbathing for now.

Just sunbathing for now.

Yes, it's true.  I AM Queen of the World!

Yes, it’s true. I AM Queen of the World!

My family has always brought me the most happiness in my life. I love to eat dinner every night with them. Right now my husband is working out-of-state, so it’s just the three of us. But we’ve had the best conversations lately and are really getting along (not an easy task when there are three adults living here). My two kids have grown-up to be interesting people. I love to listen to them. I learn the most interesting things.

So, there you have it, my list of some of the things that make me happy. What’s on your list?

2 thoughts on “These are a few of my Favorite Things

  1. Earth Whisperer Conservation

    … A very nice and worthy list!😊

Leave a Reply

