Training for the Rest of My Life

I told my son the other day that I was “in training”. When he asked me for what, I said that I was in training for the rest of my life. See, I’ve been having a little motivation problem lately, and decided that I needed to look at my work-outs as being in training. But what does “in training for the rest of my life” mean? I had to think about that, since when I said it, I just thought that it sounded good.

Last weekend I watched the movie Tracks. This movie is based on a book written by Robyn Davidson, and is a memoir of her walk across the Australian desert. I thought the movie was terrific, and will get the book as soon as I can. The thought passed through my always busy mind that I could ride my bike by myself around the U.S. in order to bring attention to a plant-based diet. Yes, I’m crazy, I know. It was a passing thought that’s been filed away in one of the many filing cabinets in my brain. I’m still thinking about it. But if I was going to do that, I’d have to get this body of mine into really good shape.

That brought me to thinking about the fact that I’m not nearly in as good a shape as I’d like. So, I’ve decided to up my fitness level by working out more (and by “changing it up” a bit), but what do I call this so that I can make sure I continue? That’s where I came up with training for the rest of my life.

Think about it. Every time we put something into our mouths, or take a walk, we’re having an effect on our long-term health.   Every time we shove those potato chips in or other marginally “healthy” food), what are we doing to our health? We are what we eat, and what we do (or don’t do). So, in a real way we’re all “in training” for the rest of our lives. But do I really want to be in training to be an overweight old lady? NO! I can’t say that loud enough. I want to be in training to be an exciting old lady who can go to the beach and not be ashamed of her body. Who can hop on a bike and complete a ten-mile ride with dignity and aplomb. Not someone who can never go swimming or biking again. So, here I am “in training for the rest of my life”. What are you “in training” for?

Leave a Reply

