Change – How Do We Rise to the Occasion?

I dislike change, it can be way too disruptive and I tend to avoid it as much as I can. I like my routines and keeping everything the same. However, if everything stayed the same how would we ever learn new things?

The other morning, disaster struck! My sons’ X-Box 360 decided it wouldn’t connect to YouTube anymore. So, there I was, all set to do my Yoga with Denise Austin, and I couldn’t do it! I have already dealt with my VHS breaking and having to find that same Yoga work-out on YouTube, but now! Oh, No! The problem was compounded by now knowing that the Tae Bo workout I usually do on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays also was no longer available. Didn’t the X-Box know how long it took me to find a Tae Bo I could do?? Well, at that point I was so despondent that I shut everything down and decided I was done for the day. My daughter tried to fix the problem last night, but this morning at 5 a.m. I discovered YouTube wasn’t working. Stupid X-Box!

So, I took care of the problem by using one of my Billy Blanks DVDs – that problem solved. But what about my beloved1990’s-era Yoga work-out? Well, for the first time I did Sun Salutation without Denise’s voice to follow. I usually do this with my eyes closed so I can just concentrate on her voice telling me when to breathe. But this morning I simply concentrated on listening to my own inner voice giving me instructions. Strange, but it worked. Luckily I had the foresight to write down all the Yoga postures in order, so tomorrow I will be able to attempt the standing and floor postures on my own. Will it work? I hope so. I am also stuck with a much more intense Tae Bo DVD, but hopefully I’ll eventually be able to follow along with that.

This got me thinking about how I react to change. Usually you have to drag me backwards by my hair, kicking, screaming and crying into a new and unknown future. I did cry a little this morning when I told my daughter about my continued problems, but there was no screaming or hysterics. I managed to downplay the drama (yay me!). I’m hoping that somehow we’ll be able to figure out the problem, but at this point I at least have a plan. This is of course, the most important thing about change. Call me anal, but I’m all about the planning. I can plan for change with the best of them. It’s the coming up with the plan by the seat of my pants that can throw me off. This is a funny thing, since I’m often all about flying by the seat of my pants – but that’s my idea, not something that’s been thrown at me. How well do you handle change?

5 thoughts on “Change – How Do We Rise to the Occasion?

  1. Over the last year, my practice has been learning how to react to change and/or obstacles, especially when it comes to my schedule. Too often, life happens – a child gets sick, something breaks down, a well-meaning friend steamrolls your time. It’s a true skill to learn how to deftly adapt to change. If my gym time got swallowed up, what can I do for exercise? If I didn’t get that block of writing time, when can I fit it in?
    Like anything else, the more you practice it, the better you get at adapting. And there is an unexpected reward: once you realize that you can adapt, you can sink into and appreciate the unexpected moment you’re in.

  2. I’ve been doing a bit better with it…but like you, kicking and screaming. LOL

Leave a Reply

