The Curious Case of Curiosity

The winding roads that curiosity can lead us down can become more than just a little problem. More than once I’ve come to feel that my curiosity caused more problems than it ever solved. I end up with the information, but then I have the moral dilemma of figuring out what to do with what I’ve learned.

Lots of times, other people don’t want to know a single thing that I’ve discovered. My husband will stick his face in the paper and tune me out – the longer we’ve been married, the quieter I’ve become. In fact, I try really hard to just keep my mouth shut, but sometimes I get asked a question point-blank. The greeter at Wal-Mart just recently asked me why I bought so much White Vinegar. I told her how great it is to clean with. I had just used the vinegar mixed with Bon Ami to clean my cupboard doors. Then I told her that I put a cup in every load of laundry I do. She was shocked that I don’t use Tide or any of the other name brands. I explained to her that a lot of the ingredients in those detergents are really bad for your health. When she asked me about Ajax, I told her that also has unhealthy ingredients. I use Bon Ami which has only 5 all natural ingredients. I could tell she was interested, but not ready to make any changes to her lifestyle. But, I planted the seed, so maybe someday she will.

I can spend hours jumping from one subject to another on the internet. I’ll start out with a question, which will lead to twenty more questions. And every answer leads to more questions. But here’s the thing. On the internet, anyone can say anything. So, when you’re tracking down the information you were looking for, make sure you also track down the person who wrote the article, any and all citations, and double-check the authors of those scientific studies and where the funding came from. Climate change deniers always get their funding from the oil industry. Meat and dairy proponents are always funded by the Meat and Dairy Associations. Medical doctors who advertise how great a drug is are being paid by the pharmaceutical companies. At least this has been what I’ve discovered in my cruising around the internet.

I called this the curious case of curiosity because there are a lot of people who have little to none. How can this be? How can you not be curious about things? I have always had a case of the nosiness, and if I can’t find out the answer (because it’s not always polite to just ask, I’ll simply make up a story in my mind to explain why my neighbor does such and such. At least I’ve found an answer – and who cares if that’s the reason, it at least settles my out-sized curiosity and keeps me from completely embarrassing myself with nosiness. But in the case of questions that do have findable answers, I’ll continue spending way too much time on the internet filling in my curiosity. After all, curiosity killed the cat, but satisfaction brought it back. Meow!

6 thoughts on “The Curious Case of Curiosity

  1. Without curiosity, without a desire to always learn more, life would be intolerable for me. In some ways, it’s learning to keep a part of your mind always childlike.

  2. I am so embarrassingly regretful!

Leave a Reply

