Health for Life

I wanted to continue with another Buddha quote today. As I alluded to on Monday, I’ve been having difficulties following through on my goals. Somehow I’ve let other people’s issues become my own. Once again though, I’ve realized that I can’t change someone else’s behavior, I can only change my own. I really wish I could keep that thought at the forefront of my mind, but I seem to lose it in the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

The above quote is an important one to remember while we’re busy living our lives. We need health in all its forms in order to fully live. If one system is unhealthy, all systems are affected. To be completely healthy we really do need a “whole body” approach. http://www.alternativemedicine.com/alternative-medicine/features/whole-body-approach

I feel like people are encouraged to eat and drink too much.  http://www.auburn-reporter.com/lifestyle/225568912.html#  When I went out to dinner a few weeks ago, my plate was so large that I actually had two additional meals from the box of leftovers I brought home.  If you go out to dinner a lot, how would you be able to recognize a “normal-sized” portion of food?  So, is it any wonder that so many of us are overweight?  The amount of food that we think we need to eat are usually larger than what we should eat.  Another related topic is what we’re eating.  Healthy food should make up the majority of our meals, with fruits and vegetables having a large part of our daily food intake.

Our health can be affected adversely by eating too much; but also by not getting enough exercise.  It’s difficult for many people to get out and do things.  With the winter hanging on and the vast amounts of snow that we’ve gotten, my walking mileage has gone down to only a scant few miles a week lately.  This had left me feeling out-of-sorts with a major case of cabin fever.  So, I’ve dusted off my walking DVDs and am trying to use them to rectify the situation.  Health means many things, but it all can add up.  Eating a balanced diet and exercising can help immensely.

Finally, there is the topic of our mental health.  SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) can be a problem for some people during the winter months.   http://www.permaculture.co.uk/readers-solutions/5-natural-cures-seasonal-affective-disorder-sad  If there are problems with your mental health, please get help.  My feelings are that many people can be affected by SAD and not even know it.  I do realize that I can be affected by how little sun there is, and I do make an effort to get outside in the sun for at least some part of the day.  Playing ball with my dog is a good way to get out of the house on a daily basis.

So, I’m going to make an effort to obtain health for life.  Without it, life won’t be nearly the adventure it should be!

Leave a Reply

