Are you ready for Valentine’s Day?

Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day. Do you have your gift picked out? Have you bought your card? If we watch T.V. we know that in order to “show” our love we must spend money. Why is this so? Well, so that advertisers can sell us the perfect jewelry, coat, candy, flowers, etc. If we don’t buy something spectacular our loved ones won’t know that we love them. I’m I right?

Of course not. We should know better, but the commercials keep on coming. According to business, the only way to show our love is by spending money. If I were to get my dearest wish fulfilled, my husband would take my poor filthy car to the car wash. I’ll even pay for it. Going to the car wash is one of those things that I do, although I wish I didn’t have to. I have this horrible phobia about it. First, I think I’ll somehow miss the tight turn into the car wash bay; the next fear is that I’ll put my car in neutral either too soon, or too late; then I fear that somehow I’ve forgotten to close all the windows and I’ll get the soap inside the car. At the end, I’m afraid that I’ll either put the car into drive too soon or too late. So, as you can see, going to the car wash is just an unending phobia for me. I actually get to the point where my hands shake when I give the really nice guy the money. I think they feel sorry for me, as I’m sure that my face looks like I’m going to pass out from stress. All this over a car wash!

So, maybe this Valentine’s Day, we should think about what our loved ones really want. Is it the candy and flowers, or is there something else that we could do? Of course, I’ve gotten my husband, son and daughter candy. But, I say, “They like candy.” Me, I’m waiting for my car to be washed.

Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day and share the love!

4 thoughts on “Are you ready for Valentine’s Day?

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day! I feel you on your car wash phobia. I totally avoid it because I have the same fears! At some point, when I do crack and take my car through, I realize it’s not that bad. I feel ya though! I hope your hubby takes your car to get sparkling clean. Also, this post reminded me why it’s not all bad that I don’t have cable anymore! 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend.

    • I hear that you’re going to get a lot of snow over the weekend. Hopefully we won’t get much, but it’s not predicted that we will, although it looks like my part of CT is right on the line. 😦 Hope you have a happy Valentine’s Day! Glad to hear you don’t have cable – us either. We do have Netflix, though (it’s great – no commercials! 🙂

      • Yup, it’s hard to believe it but more snow is incoming! It’s almost like you have to throw your hands up and just roll with it because we can all do absolutely nothing about it. I hope you guys end up okay too, over in CT! Also, I love Netflix! I can’t wait for the next season of the Netflix shows like House of Cards and Orange is the New Black to be up – do you watch those ever? It’s totally my guilty pleasure to be an absolute blob at least one day a week and curl up on the couch with wine and tv 🙂

      • I have the problem of binge watching shows on Netflix. I haven’t watched any of the ones that you mentioned, though. I really did myself in on binge-watching Revenge a while ago. I really do need my sleep. 🙂 I’m trying really hard to be “good”. We’ll see how long that lasts! Enjoy your snow! You’re right, there is nothing we can do about, so we might as well enjoy it. At least it’s pretty!

Leave a Reply

