Waiting for the Wizard

My son is unhappy. He’s going through one of those, I hate my job, I hate my life phases. You know…the ones that can sometimes stick around so long they become your life? Those ones. He keeps on expecting me to fix everything, or at least come up with some useful advice. I can’t, no matter how much he insists. This is something he needs to figure out on his own. I can’t do it for him. Besides which, no matter what I say, I don’t know anything; I mean “look at your life” he tells me. Why does he ask then, I’d like to know.

He’s waiting for the Wizard…the one who waves his magic wand and life is suddenly all sunshine and roses. Yeah, I know…I’ve never met this Wizard either. But I bet you anything there is some part of you that’s waiting for him. I can even imagine what he looks like. Sometimes he’s just like Gandalf; but there are other incarnations where he looks like Thor (yummy). Oh, stop that! But anyway, here we all are (or at least some of us) looking for someone else to take control and make our lives better.

Probably would be the wizard to change my life!

Probably would be the wizard to change my life!

It can take us a long time to finally figure out that no one else is going to “fix” our problems. Sorry Cinderella, but I’ve never met the Prince, either. The trick is to figure out what you can change, and what you can’t. I can’t change all my circumstances, but I can change myself. The tough thing is to decide what and how you’re going to change. Then, once you’ve figured that out, you need to take the steps required to change. That’s my advice!

5 thoughts on “Waiting for the Wizard

  1. Change! 🙂 I’m slowly changing the way I see food and making it healthier! 🙂

  2. I have nominated your blog for a Liebster Award! The Liebster Award is a fun way to recognize some of the awesome posts fellow bloggers (like you) are publishing. The award comes with a tradition of sharing a few things about yourself and spreading the love to other bloggers. You can check out what was passed onto me here: https://lifediethealth.wordpress.com/2015/01/31/saturday-shock-liebster-award/?preview=true&preview_id=393

Leave a Reply

