The Importance of Being Organized

Okay, so one of my goals for 2015 was to get my checkbook up-to-date. This process actually took me a week-and-a-half working at 30 minutes a day Mondays through Fridays. So, guess what I found when I worked through my checks, deposits and automatic withdrawals? Not surprisingly I found a problem. I was actually surprised that it was just one. But, one that cost me about $400.00. I had called to cancel one of the many trucks that we insure, since my son had sold it; and I had called and cancelled in September. But then, unknown to me, since I didn’t even remotely look at my statement and check my automatic withdrawals, the insurance company made a mistake and put that truck back on my insurance in October. So, there I was paying an additional amount on a vehicle that we didn’t even own. And, this went on from October to January. All because I simply filed my statements and didn’t look at them.

I’ve since called the insurance company, spoke to a very upset customer service representative, and have had the issue resolved. I now pay less than half what I did before, since I also subtracted my wonderful, very old Montero from the policy because we scrapped it and I turned in the license plates a week ago.

So, what did I learn from this experience? Well, being organized means more than simply filing away your bank statements. It also means looking at your bank statements and checking to make sure that you’ve got everything right down to a “T”. Okay, lesson learned. I’ll never again just open the statements and place them in the file thinking, oh what an organized person I am, I’m just so good!

Being organized means knowing just what the heck is going on in your house and finances. You would think that I would have learned that lesson by now, but apparently I’m an extremely slow learner. Well, on to organizing the kitchen this week. Wonder what lesson I’ll learn in there? Most likely that I’ve got multiples of my spices and extracts lurking in the cupboards.

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Being Organized

  1. You are so right! As time consuming as it can be, I am never caught out when I track our finances, food and nappy levels!

  2. Good post! Making mistakes is part of the “getting organized” process. Even if it is something as small as filing away your bank statements, it’s amazing how small changes can make such a big difference.

    Keep up the good work! 🙂

    -Lauren
    http://www.seechangeorganizing.com

Leave a Reply

