Things I Learned About Myself by Gaming

I’m not an obsessive gamer, but I do have some games that I play. The first game I ever played was Fable, and I enjoyed it quite a bit, but not obsessively. Then I started to play Skyrim and hoo-hah did I like that. Recently my son bought me my own X-Box One and so far I’ve only played Ryse Son of Rome and Destiny. Between the two, my favorite is Destiny. Just like Skyrim, Destiny lets you roam around the game. Skyrim is more open play and you can go anywhere. Destiny lets you re-do the various plot lines and patrol Earth, the Moon, Venus and Mars. There is a lot of fun to be had, and, hours to be “wasted”.

 

There are certain things that I’ve learned since I started gaming. In the gaming world, I don’t handle stress very well. I get too upset and worried that my avatar will die, although this is silly, because she simply re-spawns. In the real world, I handle stress with a “just take care of it” attitude. As an example, when my son was eleven and he was run over by a car, I didn’t “fall apart”, and the EMT guys let me ride in the ambulance because of my calming demeanor. (He is fine, and everything worked out.)

As an introvert, I like to solve problems and handle most things on my own. I’m pretty much a lone wolf in the gaming world also. I do have a Live Gold subscription (paid for by my kids), but rarely play with other people. In Destiny my avatar is a Hunter and that character is described as a lone wolf. So apparently that’s what I am in both worlds.

I need a storyline. Yes I do. I really enjoyed playing Ryse Son of Rome; however, you can only play a prescribed storyline. I mean really, he was gone fighting for ten years, couldn’t there be more of a storyline and we could play from that? I have re-played the game on harder levels, but I would like a bigger storyline. In real life I will make up stories about other people I see in the store, etc. Just to add a little life to the world. Storylines are important people!

Now, in Destiny the music seems to get louder the longer a Strike goes on. It gets me to the point that my hands are shaking from the adrenaline I’ve got pumping through my blood. Mostly that’s due to the music. I have to keep turning it down all the time. Don’t get me wrong, I really like the music in Destiny, it just amps me up. In the real world music doesn’t do that to me. It must be because in real life I’m not trying to kill the Hive!

So, what I already knew about myself has been proved by my gaming experiences. I’m a lone wolf who gets amped up by music (only when gaming) who needs a story-line and must solve problems on my own! Now, stop bothering me and let me play Destiny!  Can’t wait for the Elder Scrolls Online to have free play on June 9th – I know what I’m getting for Mother’s Day!

4 thoughts on “Things I Learned About Myself by Gaming

  1. That’s great, were you introduced to gaming by your son? It’s so nice to see a mother accept what her children are into and actually take an interest. I’ve just picked up Destiny too. Only level 7 though.

Leave a Reply

