New Year’s Resolutions – or…Lifestyle Changes

I’ve been hard at work over the past two weeks. Once again it’s time to make those New Year’s Resolutions…you know, those things you promise yourself you’ll do, and by the middle of January you’ve kicked them to the wayside. We’re all familiar with the resolutions that looked so good, so easy back in December when we were writing them down. And then, by the middle of January we’ve stopped doing them, and life continues just as it did before that little blip of changes in early January. Well, I’m here to tell you that you can keep up some of those resolutions with a little bit of forethought and planning.

So, what’s the magic “thing” you ask? Okay here it is. You’ve got to write down your goals or resolutions – I prefer to use the word goals, as resolutions carry such weight. Then, and here’s where it gets time-consuming, and requires planning; you’ve got to set up a series of steps in order to help you reach your goal. Nothing worth-while is easy, remember?

This is what I did. I wrote down my goals for the year. They actually filled up two pages in my notebook, which was more than a little intimidating, let me tell you! But once I got over my fright (!) I then broke them down into what I wanted to get done in January, and then each month thereafter. My next step was to break that down into steps that I can take each week to accomplish each larger goal by the end of 2015.

Now, after that comes the hard part. You’ve got to implement these changes. For each goal, write down a few reasons why you want to accomplish them. What will you get out of each accomplishment? For example I want to re-organize my house. So, what will I get out of this? Well, I’ll have a budget so that I’ll know where the money is going. When I want to make a meal, I’ll know if I’ve got the ingredients. When I have company I won’t have to spend hours running around in a panic picking-up and cleaning the house. If my house is picked-up, organized and clean, I’ll have more time to implement my other goals. Sounds good, right?

See? You can make resolutions and stick to them; it just takes the time to plan. And, always remember; – you are worth your time and energy! I wish you a Happy, Healthy New Year!! 2015 is your year to shine, and accomplish all that you wish!

Leave a Reply

