The Gift of Christmas

Whether “Jesus is the Reason for the Season”, or “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” is the main focus of your holiday, Christmas should be looked at as a gift. I know, I know…I’ve been so disorganized this year and not nearly as ready as I should be, but Christmas is a gift we really need to give ourselves. In my house we did the whole run around to the relatives when the kids were small. However, one year they cried the whole way to “uncles” house, and that was it for me. From the next year on, we stayed home. And I’m so glad that I decided to stop the whole rat-race.

What a difference that decision made. We had time to open gifts, eat a leisurely breakfast, and make the big family dinner. However, the best part of our slowed-down day was the time my husband got to spend with our son putting his new Lego’s together. And that time was priceless. I also had time to dress Barbie in her new outfits with our daughter. There was even time to begin reading some of the new books Santa had brought for me to read aloud to the kids. It was a magical time that seemed so far out of the daily routines that it is still special years later.

While our children are no longer “kids” Christmas has still retained the magical feel. We spend the entire day together, and now watch a new movie that Santa brings for us, instead of me reading to the kids. Yes, no one still “believes” in Santa, but all the same, we get filled stockings and a few gifts left for us. Some things never change.

So, when you’re busy running around this week, feeling that horrible pressure to be all things to all people, please stop and take a breath. Remind yourself that Christmas is a gift.

Leave a Reply

