Interrupting the Season – Sandy Hook

First of all, I need to say that I live in Connecticut. Not anywhere near Newtown, but on the other side of the state. However, even though I didn’t think that I needed to say anything at all about Sandy Hook, some things I’ve read have convinced me otherwise. I, like many of you, saw the events as they unfolded. I too, had to bear the repeated rumors that were circulated as news for hours before we actually had any clue as to what happened. I’ve also read a lot of the news reports as well as the one that was finally released just a little while ago about how Adam Lanza “fell through the cracks of mental health help”. Actually, while reading that report, it occurred to me that it wasn’t so much the mental health profession that dropped the ball as much as it was his mother, and his first victim, who did.

Yesterday in my Reader I got a blog about how Sandy Hook was a hoax. I don’t really know how I got this, but there it was. Now, of course people can believe whatever it is that they want to, but really, a hoax? The entire premise of this is that the “government” created this hoax, hired actors and staged the entire thing. This was done to take away our “arms”. Really? How is it that no one is de-armed? The entire argument falls apart, right there. If the “government” had gone to all this trouble, don’t you think that you’d be missing your guns right now? After all, this would be a huge plan and operation. If the “government” had gone to all this trouble, wouldn’t they have also gone to the trouble to be sure they were able to take away all the guns? The conspiracy theory really doesn’t add up.

But, what is really difficult to stomach are the letters, web-sites, phone calls and texts that the families have received claiming that it’s a conspiracy. I can’t imagine losing a child and then having strangers tell me I’m part of a conspiracy and that my child is alive and well. And again, if these people were all actors then this would have been a year’s long conspiracy, placing these actors into the community for quite a while in advance of December 14, 2012.

With all the other mass shootings that have happened since 2012, I’d have to say that America’s problems with gun access by those who are mentally ill are alive and well. Too bad so many people aren’t.

The upshot of this is to just remember to have love and gratitude for what you do have in your lives. Give the gift of love to everyone you meet, even if you feel too tired or too pressed for time. You never know what good may come of it. Perhaps you can help to save a life. “Smile and the world smiles with you.” Corny, but true. The true gift of the holidays is love. Pure and simple.

Leave a Reply

