Anxiety Caused by Social Issues

My anxiety level has sky-rocketed. The news is full of shootings, suffering, and the torture report. Last night while I was reading some of the torture report, I had a full-blown panic attack. Even though I’ve come close to that before, since the news had been so bad, this was the first time in long time that I was unable to control it.

How do other people handle this? I know that there are other people out in the world who have been affected in the same way. Tumblr has been filled with posts about it. But, I am having a really hard time.

Some people have said to me some of the following; “You’re white, why would it affect you? “You weren’t tortured so who cares?” “You’ve got enough money to buy food so why worry about people who can’t stay within their budgets?” “You don’t make minimum wage so why do you care?”

How wrong they can be. I do make minimum wage when I work. If it wasn’t for my husband’s salary I’d be in major trouble. There would be too much month left at the end of my paycheck. And, things don’t have to directly affect you to bother and upset you. I’ve found myself asking myself “What kind of people are they that they don’t care what happens to other people?”

I spend a lot of time writing letters in support of other people. I spend a lot of time signing petitions to help make the world a better place. There are a so many things that you can do to help improve the world for everyone. But, at the end of the day I feel that I haven’t done enough. Bad things still happen, all the time. It simply isn’t enough.

One thought on “Anxiety Caused by Social Issues

  1. This frequently happens to me and because I have a tendency towards depression, I have to pay attention when it’s too much. I remind myself that I do no good in the world if I’m so stressed as to be overwhelmed and incapacitated. You have to start with keeping yourself okay (not oblivious) and then work outward. There are times when I have to stop reading or watching the news. I believe it’s my duty as a citizen of the world to be informed and to pay attention, but again, I’m no good if I’m just spinning my anxious wheels. I believe in moderation, even in news, volunteering and other ways in which we are stewards of each other and the planet, if only because it keeps me functioning and capable of making positive contributions.

Leave a Reply

