The Wonders of St. John’s Wort

I just recently started taking St. John’s Wort. It’s been about three weeks now.  I’ve done this in the past, but never religiously. Not surprisingly, I would get upset since I never felt better. Then I would wonder why it never worked for me. But, I bought some and this time decided to take it three times a day, as is recommended.

According to the website http://www.webmd.com/depression/guide/st-johns-wort studies suggested that St. John’s Wort worked for mild depression, but not for severe depression. This is rather interesting, since the prescribed depression drugs didn’t work on severe depression either, according to two large studies that were sited on this website.  Of course before you take any herbal remedy or prescription drug, you should look into the side effects and any contraindications with any other drugs you may be taking.

About 15 years ago, I was diagnosed by a doctor with the disease Fibromyalgia. Apparently at the time, once you were diagnosed with this, the doctor would automatically prescribe an antidepressant. I took that prescription for about a year, and then weaned myself off of it, since I didn’t like the side effects, and I really don’t like to take pharmaceuticals. Then, I just continued on with my life. I knew that I had a case of mild depression, but since a sunrise or sunset, or many other little things can make my day, I just decided to live with it. Recently it occurred to me that I had given up on the concept of hope. I had hope that other people would have good things happen to them, but no hope for myself. This was the way the rest of my life was going to be, and that would be that. Then, I noticed that everything was tinged with the slightest shade of grey (no, not Fifty Shades of Grey), just that rainy, overcast sky grey. Not nice.

So, I started with the St. John’s Wort, and the grey has lifted. I feel that maybe, just maybe I could have hope that I would be able to improve my life. There are days I actually feel giddy about the fact that I can do something to improve my life. What a wonderful feeling!

Leave a Reply

