Being Grateful

Thanksgiving is a difficult holiday. Many people I know have to work; I’m a vegan and my in-laws (where we go for the holiday dinner) aren’t; and then there is the whole Native American thing…I read Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by Dee Brown when I was taking American History in high school. That led to my first and only visit to the Principal’s office when I informed my teacher that our history book was lying about the entire “Indian Affair”. To say that he didn’t take kindly to my observation would be understating the facts; hence my trip to “the office”.

So, as you can see, I have conflicted feelings regarding this beloved holiday. Which doesn’t seem to be much of a holiday these days, with “Black Friday” starting earlier and earlier than ever before. Just to note, I have never gone shopping on the Friday after Thanksgiving, since just the thought of going somewhere that’s so crowded and crazy is the last thing I’d want to do.

Instead, I try to think about all the things in my life that I have to be grateful for: my family; my pets; what I’ve learned and done during the past year. This year I’ll be including becoming Vegan in that list. Also, starting this blog which is something I really never thought that I would do. Taking part in NaNoWriMo and learning how to put time in my day to write is another one for my grateful list. Life is a learning and growing experience, and I feel that even though I never really do live up to what I want to accomplish, I didn’t do too bad a job so far this year.  What are you going to be grateful for on your holiday?

2 thoughts on “Being Grateful

  1. This is my first Thanksgiving as a vegan and my in-laws bulldozed us into going to a restaurant. I’m going to be eating a lot of salad, but I’m making a “traditional meal” on Stay Home Friday for my own family – the omnivore, vegetarian and vegan. So turkey for the man, mac & cheese for the girl and a load of mashed potatoes for me. I’m treating Thanksgiving as the time I really sink into the things I’m grateful for – my family, nutritious food, books, music…
    I’ve read far too many books on American colonization and “discovery” to see these holidays as anything more than a point of discussion and an opportunity to educate myself (and my daughter). I hope that you have a good day!

Leave a Reply

