Vegetable Soup

This is a really tasty soup that I make using Bob’s Red Mill Vegi Soup Mix. The mix has green and yellow split peas, barley, lentils and whole wheat alphabet pasta. I made this for dinner last night. I love soup, and am so happy when the weather gets cold enough to make it. I usually just throw stuff into it and don’t measure, but I did my best to measure this time so I could give out the recipe.

2 cups diced carrots
2 cups diced celery
2 onions, diced
1 Tbsp oil
1 Tbsp garlic
2 tsp each: Thyme leaves, Sage, Marjoram, Basil and Tuscan Seasoning

Put the oil into a large cooking pot, heat and then throw the above ingredients in. Stir and cook for about 10 min.
Add:
4 cups vegetable broth
4 cups water

Bring to a boil and add in Bob’s Red Mill Vegi Soup Mix. You add 1 part mix to 4 parts water (and broth), so I used 2 cups of the mix.

Let boil for about 5 or so minutes, then simmer.
I brought it back up to a boil and added ¼ cup Chia Seeds, and then let it simmer.
The Chia Seeds just help to thicken the soup, and you can add it or not. It’s up to you.
Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

