Vegan Apple-Cherry Pie

I thought that I’d do another food post.  This is a recipe that I really haven’t shared with anyone before.  I don’t really follow a “real” recipe as I came up with it myself.  It’s a good dessert to have when you’re craving apple pie, but don’t really want the usual pie.

Pie filling ingredients:
1 1/3 cups sugar
1/3 cup flour
5 Granny Smith apples peeled and cut into small pieces
1 can 14.5 oz. Red Tart Cherries drained
¼ tsp almond extract
1 tablespoon cinnamon
Mix together and turn into a pastry shell. Dot with Vegan butter. Put top crust on. Slit top crust to let hot air out. Pinch edges together. Brush top with Almond Milk (or any other Vegan milk) and sprinkle with sugar. Cover top with aluminum foil to prevent excessive browning; remove foil for last 15 minutes of baking.

Bake in pre-heated oven at 450° until crust is brown and juice begins to bubble through slits in crust, 25 to 45 minutes.

A note about the crust….I’m a crust snob. I love my homemade crust; but the bought ones are okay, too. Usually I look like I’ve thrown flour onto myself by the time I’m done, but what are aprons for? The first time I made a crust (I never had to learn how, since I was convinced I would marry rich and have a butler, maid and cook) it took me six tries.

I was so frustrated that I threw the fifth failed crust into the air, (screaming in frustration) where some of it stuck to the ceiling. The next crust I rolled out (after the crying was done) was the crust that worked. Sometimes we have to have a temper tantrum in order to learn.

Here is the finished product.

     Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

